top of page

About Matt Wilson

The first thing you should know about me is that I Iove my work. It affords me the opportunity to make a meaningful difference in people's lives, and in a most important area: retirement security. I'm an adviser who prioritizes managing risks over virtually everything else. The reason is, unless risks are managed, an individual's financial future can be thrown into chaos. That is why Defined Benefit Life is so appealing to me. With it, I can bring my clients a greater level of lifetime financial security. 

Thanks for Visiting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

My Story

I was born in Milwaukee WI, the eldest of five children. From an early age, I learned the value of hard work. I got my first job at age 14, a paper route. I did that for three years. During high school I also held other jobs including working in a supermarket, cutting grass, and even doing a stint at McDonalds. Throughout high school I was also very involved with sports, playing on the varsity basketball and baseball teams. In my senior year I hit 27 home runs.

I was admitted to the University of Wisconsin where I studied finance. I earned excellent grades and was awarded the Dean's List recognition every semester during my four years there. It was at college that I got interested in financial planning and insurance. I took a course on managing risk, and the things I learned in that course have never left me. After college I decided to enter the life insurance business, which was the best professional decision I've ever made.

 In 2007, I married my college sweetheart, Lori.  Over the next few years, we had four children, two boys, and two girls.  I'm a very lucky dad and husband.

 In 2021, I earned the RICP professional designation. This further enhanced my skills in retirement income planning. 

I am still active in sports, playing in a senior basketball league and coaching my kits baseball and softball teams, 

Contact Matt

Matt Wilson Safe Money Planning, LLC.

(123) 456-7890

bottom of page